Paleo Friendly Happy Hour

Home/Publications/Paleo Friendly Happy Hour

Living a Paleo lifestyle can be challenging for many people. They may feel deprived of sweet treats and carbohydrates like bread and pasta. Another thing that many feel they may miss is Happy Hour! For those who work during the week, Friday evening means it’s time to relax and indulge. But can you indulge in delicious happy hour drinks and appetizers on the Paleo diet? Of course you can! We’ll tell you how to have a Paleo Friendly Happy Hour!

We should start out by saying that happy hour does not have to involve alcohol. There are plenty of non-alcoholic options that are delicious and refreshing after a long week’s work. While a true Paleo diet may forbid alcohol, there are some drinks that are okay in moderation. We’ll talk more about that below.

Alcohol and the Paleo diet

Now, we know that cavemen didn’t drink alcohol. They drank water from the rivers instead of beer and cocktails. But that doesn’t mean that you can’t indulge once in a while in a libation or two. The key is to choose the right kind of alcohol that coincides with the Paleo diet.

There are some benefits to drinking alcohol in complete moderation. Alcohol improves vascular health as well as decrease risks for cancer. It has also been linked to lower rates of heart disease and stroke (again, we mean drinking in moderation). Having a drink or two every so often can also reduce your stress and help you to be more social at events at get-togethers.

We should mention that drinking also carries health risks as well. It can damage your liver, interrupt your sleep, and cause weight gain to name a few negative consequences. So remember to be responsible about your drinking and know that it carries risks.

Paleo-friendly cocktail choices

The best drink choices are those that are not derived from grains and have no added refined sugar. These options include rum from sugarcane and tequila from the agave plant. Another choice is potato vodka from potatoes. These are the best choices for cocktails. Good options include wine (which offers antioxidants), champagne, and beers that are gluten-free. Other choices that are not entirely recommended but still acceptable are vodka, whiskey, scotch, and gin. These liquors are derived from grains but they are still gluten-free.

Alcohol to avoid

Dessert wines and liquors are gluten-free but they are very high in sugar, so only drink them on special occasions. You should completely avoid beer and wine coolers. Unfortunately, you also must avoid premium cocktail mixes like pina colada mixes and mudslide mixes. Also steer clear of soda as a mixer as well as grenadine and other flavored syrups.

Paleo-friendly happy hour appetizers

You can enjoy lots of Paleo-friendly small bites that are easy to prepare and taste delicious. Sausage-stuffed mushrooms, deviled eggs, bacon-wrapped jalapenos, chicken skewers, shrimp cocktail, and smoked salmon bites are just a few of the acceptable and tasty Paleo-friendly options. For your sweet tooth, try some apple nachos, almond butter bars, or lime sorbet.

 

James Christopher, Creative Writer

 

 

2017-01-02T21:15:52+00:00